Monthly Archives: January 2016

National Trumpet competitors

Trumpet student Evan Fowler was named as  a semi-finalist for the prestigious National Trumpet Competition (NTC) Graduate Solo Division. A Texas State Trumpet Ensemble was also named as semi-finalist in the large ensemble division. Ensemble members are: Evan Fowler, Connor Towns, Aaron Rachui, Michael Lehman, Jason Martinez, Sarah McGriff, Shawn Henderson, Esteban Borjas, and Matt Valentine. Other ensembles invited include groups from Eastman, Curtis, Peabody, UT, UNT, and Indiana.

On March 10, the Trumpet Ensemble will be performing a piece written for them by Dr. John Mills, a Texas State graduate and  Professor of Composition and Jazz at UT-Austin.  Evan will perform on March 11.

Their professor, Dr. Keith Winking, has been invited to serve this year as an adjudicator for the high school solo division at the Competition, to be held in Columbus, Georgia.