Tag Archives: Singer of the Year

NATS singing successes

More than 500 students from across the Texas/New Mexico/Oklahoma region competed this weekend in Canyon, Texas, in the student audition competition for NATS (National Association of Teachers of Singing). Of the 29 Texas State students competing, 15 made it to the Semi-Finals, and 7 of those made it to the final round.  Jordan Van De Vere won the Singer of the Year award, accompanied by  Joey Martin.

Texas State faculty Soon Cho, Ames Asbell, Joey Martin, and Richard Novak also gave performances, and Sam Mungo did an expert presentation. In addition to Dr. Martin, Eric Thompson, Ashley Stone, and Carlos Quesada provided excellent accompaniment.

2016 Texoma NATS Texas State student results:

Freshmen Women Semi-finalists –
Annisha Mackenzie, BM – Performance (student of Brigitte Bellini)
Michelle Sanchez, BM – Music Studies (student of Oliver Worthington)

Sophomore Women Semi-finalist – Cassidy Wallace, BM – Performance (Bellini)

Junior Women Semi-finalist – Lauren “Bailey” Galindo, BM – Performance (Bellini)

Junior Men Semi-finalist – Caleb Rech, BM – Performance (Bellini)

Senior Women Semi-finalists –
Sarah Jacob, BM – Performance (Worthington)
Mallorie Gabbert, BM – Performance (student of Ronald Ulen)

Graduate Women Semi-finalists –
Keeley Hooker, MM – Performance & Pedagogy (student of Cheryl Parrish)
Charissa Memrick, MM – Performance & Pedagogy (Parrish)
Emily Thomasson, MM – Performance (student of Soon Cho)

Freshmen Men Finalist – Trenton Floyd, BM – Music Studies – 2nd Place (Cho)

Sophomore Women Finalist – Martha Rose Hayes, BM – Performance – 4th Place (Parrish)

Sophomore Men Finalists –
Alex Vanderpot, BS – Sound Recording Technology – 5th Place (Cho)
Benjamin Ruiz, BM – Performance – Honorable Mention (Ulen)

Junior Men Finalist – Joshua Meza, BM Performance – 5th Place (student of Richard Novak)

Senior Men Finalist – De’Evin J. Johnson, BM – Music Studies – 4th Place (Worthington)

2016 Texoma NATS Singer of the Year Competition Winner –
Jordan Van de Vere, BM – Performance (Cho)

Conference master class selection – Mallorie Gabbert, BM – Performance (Ulen)