Music in health research

Richard Hall represented two music projects displayed at Texas State’s recent Health Scholar Showcase. One project he is collaborating on is Thomas Clark’s ORIGAMI Project, planning a series of events providing opportunities to experience music and related visual images designed specifically for serenity and meditation in gallery format in an informal, tranquil environment.

RH health


trombone students busy this winter

Texas State trombone students Ramiro Cortez, Camden Scarborough, and Matthew Flores were accepted and received scholarships to attend the Winter Trombone Workshop held at Ithaca College.

The Texas State Trombone Octet, coached by Dr. Martin McCain, performed a featured concert at the recent Big 12 Trombone Conference. The ensemble also performed outreach concerts at Bowie High School and San Marcos High School. The octet is pictured below with New York Philharmonic principal trombonist and Juilliard professor, Joseph Alessi. 


Trombone Prof travels

Dr. Martin McCain visited Buffalo State University, Ithaca College, the University of Toronto and the Glenn Gould School. He presented master classes, solo recitals, entrepreneurship talks and coached chamber ensembles. McCain also gave music business lectures at the University of Memphis and Indiana University. He judged the preliminary round of the International Trombone Quartet Competition and was invited again to be a faculty member at the 2017 International Trombone Festival. McCain also hosted the campus visits of Zachary Bond (Malaysian Philharmonic), David Garcia (Zurich Opera) and Max Thein (Thein Brass of Bremen, Germany).

Saxophone prof’s busy winter

Todd Oxford has recently engaged in the following activities:

▪ Performer and Artist/endorser at the National Association of Music Merchants Show 2017 in Anaheim, California with Eastman Saxophones. NAMM is one of the largest music trade shows in the world.

▪ Adjudicator for 2017 ENKOR International Chamber Music Competition, Düsseldorf, Germany, and the MTNA/TMTA Solo and Chamber Music Competition at Stephen F Austin State University in Nacogdoches

▪  Soloist at Austin Presbyterian Seminary, Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran Church in Austin, and Highland Park Baptist Church in Austin

Oxford at NAMM Show


National Trumpet Competition semi-finalists

Texas State’s small trumpet ensemble was just named semi-finalists in the prestigious National Trumpet Competition to be held in Denver in March.  Other schools in the semi-finals include the University of Michigan, Boston University, McGill University, Cincinnati Conservatory, Indiana University, New England Conservatory and the University of Miami. The group, Connor Towns, Esteban Borjas, Scott Crum, Aaron Rachui, Michael Lehman, and Jason Martinez, will perform an arrangement by Connor of Jennifer Higdon’s Sky Quartet.   Connor, who studies composition with Dr. Michael Ippolito, recently found out that Ms. Higdon is going to publish his arrangement.

Our Shared Values

The Provost has reminded us all of Our Shared Values as a university community, which include valuing . . .
• “A diversity of people and ideas, a spirit of inclusiveness, a global perspective, and a sense of community as essential conditions for campus life”
• “The cultivation of character and the modeling of honesty, integrity, compassion, fairness, respect, and ethical behavior, both in the classroom and beyond”
• “Engaged teaching and learning based on dialogue, student involvement, and the free exchange of ideas
• “A commitment to public service as a resource for personal, educational, cultural, and economic development”
• “Thoughtful reflection, collaboration, planning”

Clark’s Rules for Musician Success

Teaching is not so much imparting knowledge as it is facilitating learning. A teacher is an enabling coach on the sideline; all the on-field action is by the student, the learner.

From a veteran coach, here is a simple but effective playbook. Each rule is a command to action.

Rule 1:   SHOW UP.        Rule 2PAY ATTENTION.        Rule 3DO THE WORK.

Rule 4JOIN A TEAM.        Rule 5PLAN AHEAD.        Rule 6BECOME A LEADER.


Feel free to quote and pass them on!

riding a bike